Day Zero One Two: January 2013 Photo Challenge: RESOLUTION

Happy New Year!  As Mark Twain once said,

“Yesterday, everybody smoked his last cigar, took his last drink and swore his last oath. Today, we are a pious and exemplary community. Thirty days from now, we shall have cast our reformation to the winds and gone to cutting our ancient shortcomings considerably shorter than ever.”

A quote picked in particular for today’s photo.  Last night, amidst the chinese food packets, the champagne, and the Fellowship of the Ring playing on  the television, I scoured the internet for a month-long photo challenge to ring in the New Year.  After much searching (for alas, most of them are now Instagram based), I found one which suited my needs of being simple, yet challenging.  Over at Fourtuitous.com, I found this:

first-thirty-one

Today, for January 1st, 2013 (a date which frankly, sounds like it belongs to the future), my challenge is Resolution.  A challenging word indeed, when one takes into consideration the simple fact that I don’t make New Year’s Resolutions.  They are a silly thing, and while the intent is often grand, by spring, most people have forgotten all about their goal of losing weight, eating healthy, drinking less often, or being truer to one’s self (all nobles paths when one is deep into the champagne).

So I took this a different route.  I shot a picture of what resolutions often are for other people.

Canon Rebel XS. 1/13sec, f / 2/8, ISO 400.
(no, those aren’t my cigarettes)

2 thoughts on “Day Zero One Two: January 2013 Photo Challenge: RESOLUTION

  1. I like your outside-of-the-box thinking. 🙂 I am also doing the Fourtuitous photo challenge. My photography skills are poor – I wish I had a better camera than my little, cheap digital one – but I’m having fun with participating anyway.

Leave a Reply

