106: nectar of the gods

So…I MADE MEAD TODAY.  In a bucket, because I’m the epitome of class, and because I can’t seem to find 1 gallon carboys or 5L demijohns anywhere.

Have some pictures of my ingredients!

IMG_9933

1/125sec, f / 3.2, ISO 400.

Weighing my mead in the only way I can.  Spoon meet bucket.  Spoon meet scale.

IMG_9934

1/125sec, f / 3.2, ISO 400.

My must (a must is the honey water mixture).  This is 4 lbs of honey, 5L of water, an organic orange, 1 cinnamon stick, 2 cloves, and 25 raisins

IMG_9940

1/60sec, f / 2.2, ISO 400.

I pretended I was Elvis and shook up my mead to aerate it (“I was all shook up” …if you didn’t get it)  This is before I’ve pitched my yeast, which I’m still waiting to do.  Just gotta get to the right temperature!

IMG_9941

1/60sec, f / 2.2, ISO 400.

I can’t wait to drink this.  I really can’t.

3 thoughts on “106: nectar of the gods

    • I saw a recipe for that, but I’m a bit nervous to try flowers until I’ve got the hang of this. I’m still waiting for it to start fermenting, and I’m totally freaking out about it, lol.

      • I think, for flowers, I would make tea, instead of using water. So…rather than water, I would use the herbal infusion.

        YEah, I think that makes sense…not sure though, because my brain isn’t workin right and I need to go to bed!!

Leave a Reply

